Sign Up

Sign In

Forgot Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

You must login to ask question.

Sorry, you do not have a permission to add a post.

Please briefly explain why you feel this question should be reported.

Please briefly explain why you feel this answer should be reported.

Do you lose if you hit the 8-ball in?

Do you lose if you hit the 8-ball in? You can only hit the 8-ball as part of a combination shot at this point during the game. If you make a direct strike on the 8-ball, you lose your turn and any pocketed balls remain pocketed. Your opponent can continue play on the open table at this point.

What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?

If, during the course of a shot, the cue ball does not touch anything. … Exercise caution when placing the cue ball on the table. The cue ball is always “LIVE” and if the cue ball or the hand holding or moving it touches another ball, it is a cue ball foul and your opponent will receive “ball in hand”.

How can I lose my 8-ball pool?

If the player knocks the 8-ball off the table, the player loses the game. If the player pockets the 8-ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, the player loses the game.

What happens if you sink a ball on the break?

A legal break must have at least 4 balls (not including the cue ball) make contact with the rails. … If the Player does not sink any balls on break, the turn passes to the other player, who will take a shot from wherever the cue ball lies. If any balls are sunk on the break, the breaking player continues to shoot.

What happens if 8-ball goes in wrong pocket?

You lose the game if you: a. foul or scratch when pocketing the 8-ball (except on the break). NOTE – in some leagues and tournaments, a scratch or foul in a failed attempt to pocket the 8-ball also results in a loss.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

If you did not hit your ball first and made your opponents ball – you table scratched and your opponents get the cue ball to place anywhere on the table behind the 2nd diamond/dot.

What happens if you don’t hit any balls in 8-ball?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

What happens if you hit someone else’s ball in pool?

Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.

Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?

Traditionally, 8 ball is a « call shot » game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.

Can I hit my opponents ball first in pool?

Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul.

Who breaks pool?

The 1st player who starts (breaks the rack to start a game) is determined randomly. The break will then alternate between players in future games at the same table, regardless of who won that last game. The player who breaks must strike the rack with the cue ball.

Do you have to hit your ball first in pool?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now. Before we move on, we need to check which format you play pool in because this answer could change depending on your response.

What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?

« Wrong Ball First » and « No Rail » fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.

Do I have to hit my ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).

Can you hit opponents ball in 8 ball?

It is never a foul to make an opponents ball as the result of your shot. After legal contact between cue ball and a legal object ball, your opponents balls are free to be hit, caromed off of, or pocketed, and there is never a foul. If you foul and pocket the 8 it is an automatic loss.

Can I hit opponents ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

How does the game of 8-ball pool begin?

To start the game, the object ball s are placed in a triangular rack. The base of the rack is parallel to the end rail (the short end of the pool table) and positioned so the apex ball of the rack is located on the foot spot . … The cue ball is placed anywhere the breaker desires behind the head string .

Is a scratch a ball in hand?

Pocketed Balls – Balls must remain in a pocket to be legal. If a ball goes in a pocket, but bounces back onto the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not considered either a win or loss. If it is the cue ball, it is not considered a scratch.

How do you win a game of pool?

The object of pool is to pot all of your designated balls (either stripes or solids) and then pot the 8 ball, thus winning the game.

Do you lose in pool if you miss the 8 ball?

When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. … A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.

Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?

A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. 3. If player A pots on the break when they are on that colour for the rest of the game. If player A pots a red and a yellow, then player A can choose which colour they want.

Who goes first in pool?

The player who wins the lag chooses who will shoot first. The referee will place a ball on each side of the table behind the head string and near the head string.

What are the rules for breaking in pool?

Rules of the Break

The cue ball does not need to hit any particular object ball first. However, unless the breaker pockets a ball, at least four balls must hit cushions. If the breaker does not pocket a ball and fails to drive at least 4 balls to one or more rails, it is an illegal break.

Is it better to break in pool?

In pool, if you hit the 1 ball at dead-center, you don’t have to hit them as hard to get the action. » … Break cues have stiffer shafts and harder tips that are designed to maximize power transfer and will increase your chances of making balls on the break!”



Leave a comment