Sign Up

Sign In

Forgot Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

You must login to ask question.

Sorry, you do not have a permission to add a post.

Please briefly explain why you feel this question should be reported.

Please briefly explain why you feel this answer should be reported.

What is the other name of graben?

What is the other name of graben? noun. a portion of the earth’s crust, bounded on at least two sides by faults, that has dropped downward in relation to adjacent portions. Also called rift valley.

What is horst and graben Class 6?

A horst is a raised block of the Earth’s crust that has lifted or stayed stationary while the land around it (graben) has sunk. Horst and Graben are found together in an extensional environment. The graben is the block that has been downthrown, while the horst is the block that has been upthrown next to the graben.

What is a scarp geology?

A fault scarp is a small step or offset on the ground surface where one side of a fault has moved vertically with respect to the other. … They are exhibited either by differential movement and subsequent erosion along an old inactive geologic fault (a sort of old rupture), or by a movement on a recent active fault.

What is a fault line in geology?

A fault is a fracture or zone of fractures between two blocks of rock. Faults allow the blocks to move relative to each other. This movement may occur rapidly, in the form of an earthquake – or may occur slowly, in the form of creep. … Most faults produce repeated displacements over geologic time.

What is meant by Peneplain?

Peneplain, gently undulating, almost featureless plain that, in principle, would be produced by fluvial erosion that would, in the course of geologic time, reduce the land almost to baselevel (sea level), leaving so little gradient that essentially no more erosion could occur.

What are the major landforms Class 6?

Answer: The major landforms are mountains, plateaus and plains.

  • Mountains. They are natural elevation of the earth surface. They are higher than the surrounding area. …
  • Plateaus. They are usually flat-topped table land and are higher than the surrounding area. …
  • Plains. They are vast stretches of flat land.

What are different types of mountains Class 6?

There are three types of mountains- Fold Mountains, Block Mountains and the Volcanic Mountains.

What are mountains for Class 6?

A mountain is a high natural landform that projects above the surrounding land, in a limited area. It is only when the natural elevation of a landform is more than 1000 feet high above the sea level; it is termed as a mountain.

What are the types of faults in geology?

There are four types of faulting — normal, reverse, strike-slip, and oblique. A normal fault is one in which the rocks above the fault plane, or hanging wall, move down relative to the rocks below the fault plane, or footwall. A reverse fault is one in which the hanging wall moves up relative to the footwall.

How scarps are formed?

Scarps are generally formed by one of two processes: either by differential erosion of sedimentary rocks, or by movement of the Earth’s crust at a geologic fault. The first is the more common type: the escarpment is a transition from one series of sedimentary rocks to another series of a different age and composition.

What is meant by a scarp?

1 : the inner side of a ditch below the parapet of a fortification. 2a : a line of cliffs produced by faulting or erosion — see fault illustration. b : a low steep slope along a beach caused by wave erosion.

What are the 4 types of faults?

There are four types of faulting — normal, reverse, strike-slip, and oblique. A normal fault is one in which the rocks above the fault plane, or hanging wall, move down relative to the rocks below the fault plane, or footwall. A reverse fault is one in which the hanging wall moves up relative to the footwall.

What are the 3 main types of faults?

There are three main types of fault which can cause earthquakes: normal, reverse (thrust) and strike-slip. Figure 1 shows the types of faults that can cause earthquakes. Figures 2 and 3 show the location of large earthquakes over the past few decades.

What are the types of folds?

There are three basic types of folds (1) anticlines, (2) synclines and (3) monoclines. The adjacent diagram should quickly demonstrate how the basic folds differ from one another, but should you need additional memory stimulation, consider this… up (think swncline) and monoclines just have one limb.

How is a peneplain formed?

A peneplain is considered to have formed by the lowering of an entire region containing more than one watershed to a common base level. Later uplift may lead to a rejuvenation of erosional processes so that the area is cut by new valleys and interfluves to produce a dissected peneplain.

What is the difference between peneplain and Pediplain?

The peneplain concept is often juxtaposed to that of pediplain. … A difference in form that may be present is that of residual hills, which in Davis’ peneplains are to have gentle slopes, while in pediplains they ought to have the same steepness as the slopes in the early stages of erosion leading to pediplanation.

What is Monadnock and peneplain?

A monadnock is an isolated mountain representing an erosional residual (peak or knob). The penultimate stage of the geomorphic cycle developed under humid temperate conditions is the peneplain, which the innovator of the term, Davis, William Morris; Davisian theories pr Vol.

What is called erosion Class 6?

The wearing away of the earth’s surface is called erosion.

What are types of landforms?

Mountains, hills, plateaus, and plains are the four major types of landforms. Minor landforms include buttes, canyons, valleys, and basins.

What are the features of plateaus Class 6?

  • Plateaus are elevated flat lands. …
  • Plateaus have one or more sides with steep slopes.
  • Their height often varies from few hundred metres to several thousand metres.
  • Plateaus may be young or old. …
  • The Tibet plateau is the highest plateau in the world.
  • Plateaus are storehouse of minerals like gold, diamond, iron, coal, etc.

What are 4 types of mountains?

There are 4 types of mountains, viz. fold mountains, block mountains and volcanic mountains.

What is the work of police class 6?

Ans: Work of the Police: To maintain law and order in its area. To register cases of thefts, accidents, injuries, fights etc. To inquire, investigate, and take action on the cases within its area.

What are 5 types of mountains?

There are five main types of mountains: volcanic, fold, plateau, fault-block and dome.

What do you mean by graben Class 6?

Block Mountains

They are formed when large areas of land are broken and displaced vertically. The uplifted terms are known as horsts and the lowered ones are called graben. The Rhine valley and the Vosges mountains are examples of block mountains.



Leave a comment